Methodist Willowbrook Hospital – The best first job

My friend recently graduated nursing school and just landed a job working in the Labor and Delivery department at Methodist Willowbrook Hospital(congrats!).  Coincidentally, MWH is where I had my first job almost a decade ago. When I was a junior in high school one of my best friends got me a job working in the Materials Management department giving out supplies, and even after I graduated I would return during the summers to work.  Hearing news of my friend’s new job brought back all the great memories from that joint. 

Me and the fellas used to sit in the cafeteria/atrium and just watch all the cute women that walked by.  There were soooo many attractive females that would just pass through the hospital on a daily basis.  But there was one lady in particular that we all wish we could see everyday.  She was a doctor (dermatology) and she was FINE.  And she had a naked ring finger.  Wonder if that’s still the case.

I think Labor and Delivery and Post-Partum had the cutest nurses overall.  I remember I used to jock this one Vietnamese nurse that worked in Med/Surg though.  For the first 3 years I worked there, I had a legitimate crush on her.  Then one summer I ran into her at a club and she was getting kinda ratchet because she was going through a divorce.  I ended up pulling her number but I never made anything happen.  I think a big part of it was that when I saw her at the club, she couldn’t really dance, and it ruined it for me.  Looking back at it I should’ve made it happen anyways.  I think I was barely 20 at the time, and to hook up with an older chick with an actual career would’ve been a great story.  *Sigh*

I used to slap box my homeboy “E” in the warehouse (which was more of a supply room, really) and I got my ass kicked every time for the most part.  E was faster and a smarter fighter.  One time, though, ONE TIME I got his ass GOOD.  But then he got crunk and instead of slapping he kind of stabbed at me with an open hand, so when he caught me he stabbed me with his nail.  He even drew blood.

Our boss was rather tall for a female (5’9” ish) and had red hair, so we used to call her Big Red.  She didn’t like that for some reason.

In the warehouse we had rolling shelves, and one time I hid on top of them from our boss.  When she saw me up there she wasn’t too happy…we were laughing our asses off though.

We used to ride the pallet jack down the loading ramp.  That mug went pretty fast.

One time we turned off all the lights in the warehouse and played flashlight tag.

We invented a game called Bandy Ball.  It changed our lives….and killed our productivity.

There was this one physical therapist that was always wired and seemed like she was on something.  We called her Crazy Crack Lady, and every time she needed something she would tell you why she needed it.  “Hey can you bring some 4×4 gauze to PT, I looked and there’s none there, and we need some for this patient, yeah he just checked in yesterday, and today I have to re-dress his wound, he was in a motorcycle accident, and now I have to re-dress the wound on his arm, and I just checked and there’s no gauze in the cabinet, so if you could bring some to PT as soon as you could that’d be grreeeaat.  Thanks!”

One of the guys I worked with….you know what?  I’m not going to put that story out in the public forum.  But if he reads this he’ll know I’m talking about him hahahHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Man I could go on for days.  But I’ll stop now.

4 thoughts on “Methodist Willowbrook Hospital – The best first job

  1. Corey says:

    This was entertaining.

  2. Emmanuel says:

    HAHAHA…. good times. Bandy Ball…. riding the pallet jack…. clubs every weekend. Always messing with Boss lady. I think Naji was the only one that didn’t jack around. Yes you did get me good ONE time while slap boxing…. but I came back like a champ. You’re a better boxer now…. I have confidence that you could whoop anyone that wanted to step to you…. and if you couldn’t…… I’m still here. Black Muscle baby

  3. iren monkey says:

    i would have to say that this is my favorite post. why? coz i’m self-centered and i’m gonna have to agree on your comment that L&D and Postpartum nurses are the cutest lol. we sure are!

    good read homie.

Leave a Reply

